Here Now

This is it.  The day has come.  I joined this writing challenge to restart a creative life, but  I can think of a million things I should be doing instead.

I am going to do it.  I am going to write every day. A few sentences or a page. Matters not. I will write. I will be here. Now. Each day I will be here. Not there. Here.

Here, typing away, trying to think of something important to say.  Not there, thinking about how I should  do my neck extensions because I am too far forward again and have neglected that ball and chain for months. Here.

Now. Not later. Here and not there. Not thinking about how sitting in silence, hearing my breath is more important to my wellbeing than this at this moment.  Putting thoughts to paper. Blog. In the  now. The present.

Carefully unwrapping this present to myself.  A lovely gift of presence, here and now.  Not distracting myself with  my hunger and the need to prep dinner. Or the dishes in the sink that should be put into the dishwasher because I hate a messy kitchen.  Or the test papers to grade. Not TalentEd to complete or the calls to make or  the conferences to schedule or the cats to feed.  Not the  estate to settle.  Or the forgiveness to grant.  NO.  Not here and not now…

For here and now I am present for the challenge, gracing  myself, focusing on the words and the tap, tap, tapping of the keys on the keyboard.  A true gift, simple yet complex, when I am present to accept it.

9 thoughts on “Here Now

  1. I’m glad you’re doing the challenge. Even though there are a ton of other things to do, it doesn’t take very long, but well worth the effort. Especially on March 31 when you can say you did it! Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s all it takes, being here and tapping out a few words. Use those million things you think you should be doing as fodder for your writing. This truly is a gift that you give to yourself and many others. So take a deep breath and enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome, Maribeth! So glad you are taking the challenge. The way you wrote with short sentences let me inside your head to follow your thinking. That’s how I envision thoughts – bouncing around until we finally lasso them and put them into words. Looking forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rose! I think this challenge will be a great start to whatever creative endeavor the path leads me down. I am not fooled into thinking that this will be easy, as the day melts before my eyes most of the time. But I am excited and looking forward to it, wherever it leads.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

