I Know This

I’ve only met him once or twice, so no, I do not know him.

I’ve met him only once or twice, and no, I do not know him.

I do not know his name is Tim and striking in his long blond hair.

I do not know that he is sensitive, or that his nephew is named after him, his nephew who is just like him.

No, I do not know this.

 

I’ve met him only once or twice and no, I do not know him.

I do not know of his strong faith or  that he is a gifted speaker.

I do not know that his passion, after his wife and two sons, is writing, or that his writing is breathtaking, tears-to-your-eyes beautiful.

No, I cannot know this.

 

I’ve only met him once or twice, so no, I do not know him.

I do not know that he has fought a mean cancer for the past six years.

I do not know that he is out of options, that he has only a month or so to live.

No, I do not know any of this.

 

I’ve only met him once or twice, but I do know a few things.

I do know that the pain of his loss will run deep.

I do know this world will be losing an inspirational teacher, father, husband, son, brother and friend.

Yes, I do know.

 

I’ve only met him once or twice, but I do know him.

His name is Tim.

 

 

14 thoughts on “I Know This

    1. Thank you very much, Dana. I had a tough time writing today. After searching for inspiration for a long time, that sentence flashed through my mind. I had to go with it. I am glad to have the feedback.

      Like

Leave a Reply

