Grief’s Moods

Grief is the wind.

It blows in s-l-o-w-l-y,

blows out forcefully,

blows g e n t l y,

stands still,

only to be at category 5 in record time,

when you least expect it.

Grief knows no time,

has no deadlines.

It’s simple yet

complex.

It isn’t afraid

to cause suffering

when it shows

it’s many

moods…

 

A  response to Diane Dougherty’s poem from March 19, 2016 entitled To Anthony. Take a look.

https://dianeandlynne.wordpress.com/2016/03/19/to-anthony

 

 

 

@maribethbatcho 2016 All Rights Reserved

 

 

20 thoughts on “Grief’s Moods

    1. Yes. Thank you for reading my reaction and for responding. It is because I understand Diane’s grief that I was able to write this piece in this way. You can be the biggest optimist in the world, but grief will still knock at your door, an unwelcomed guest. Thanks again.

      Like

    1. It most definitely is the way grief hits. Ten years later, or in Diane’s case, 15, and you still grieve at unexpected times, with unknown triggers, and in explicable ways. I feel for your friend, I really do. Hug your mother once more tomorrow for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Such a wonderful poem that captures what grief is – so accurately depicting its strength. I read Diane’s poem, too, and this poem is such a heartfelt response to Diane’s thoughts. It is hard for me to write about grief and sadness. My writing becomes too dark, so I avoid going there most of the time. You have defined grief here so clearly – through the eyes of someone who has grieved and is still grieving. Powerful piece of writing for a Sunday morning – or any other day, for that matter!

    Like

  2. Thanks, but all I did was comment on Diane’s piece. She did the hard part.
    Isn’t the best writing provocative? Reactive, in both dark and light ways? Isn’t that the point of writing? I am certain your writing would far surpass anything I have done here, if you allow yourself to go there.

    Like

  3. This is such a great, concise use of language. I have such respect for you and your poetry–I think poetry is nearly impossible! I love the juxtaposition you create–this is such a true description of grief.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for pointing me toward Diane’s blog. A gorgeous piece of writing. Both you and Diane make me think of Ralph Fletcher’s quote in his novel, FIG PUDDING.

    “When someone you love dies, you get a big bowl of sadness put down in front of you, steaming hot. You can start eating now, or you can let it cool and eat it bit by bit later one. Either way, you end up eating the whole thing. There’s really no way around it.”

    ― Ralph Fletcher, Fig Pudding

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with Ralph 100%. You can be the biggest optimist in the world, and you will still grieve. If you choose to put the grief in the closet, it will come back to haunt you, so you might as well start the process early on. God knows that 10 years (in my case), 15 years (in case of Diane’s) later, it still hits you. Thanks for your thoughtful response.

      Like

  5. your poem is such a distilled description of how grief feels. I am fresh into it with my husband, but both my parents and my sister have also died in the past six years, so there’s a lot of grief circling me these days. But I also very much appreciate Ralph Fletcher’s quote; I would like to eat that big bowl as quickly as I can and get through with it. But perhaps it’s one of those bowls that never fully empties.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like myself, you have been smacked with layers upon layers of grief in a short period of time. It makes it almost impossible to be positive, to stay optimistic and look at the bright side of death (?) when you suffer so. For me, and for many, many people that I know, this type of deeply rooted pain ebbs and flows, but you never truly goes away. I am truly sorry that you have experienced such intense loss so closely together. I think Fletcher’s quote is exactly what grief is. In the meantime, May you be healthy. May you be at peace. May you be surrounded by the love and grace of others. May the road rise to meet you. Be well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

