Take a Stroll

If you took a stroll

down the halls

of the school

in which  I teach

you would see

the beauty of

creation.

you would see

green and blue tie-dyed earths

colorful rainbows

insect life cycles.

 

you would see

computer interpretations

of Van Gogh’s Sunflowers

books and artwork about musicians

music and instruments

hand molded ceramic bowls inscribed with short verse or rhyme,

like Dave the Potter did.

 

you would  see

thinking through

writing

hand maps

wordles

Come to poems

Spring acrostic poems.

 

and these

you would also see

hanging outside of

my classroom, room 53:

Daria pink

Kaia pink poem

Hasin informational

addison informational

david informational

Alisa informational
This student moved from Belarus to the United States at the beginning of this school year. When I first met her at the end of August 2015, she spoke 7 words in English. Look at her now!

 the beauty of

the creation

up and down the halls

as you strolled and

looked

at the walls

is what you would see.

©Maribeth Batcho

11 thoughts on “Take a Stroll

    1. We are always in such a hurry that we forget to look at what is hanging on display. The 6 pieces attached are samples from my students that are hanging on the walls. What do you think? Be well, my friend!

      Like

  1. I love walking down halls of schools. It is such fun to see what’s happening in classes. If the photos are of your students’ work, they are quite prolific writers. I couldn’t enlarge enough to read, but that’s a lot of writing!

    Like

    1. They are my writers. They are prolific. I did the typing to save time, but they read me every word and I typed it the way they told me to. I will try to enlarge so you can read them and tell me what you think. Thanks for reading!

      Like

    1. Very kind and generous words indeed. The pieces at the end are a sampling from my class. They have a strong desire to break free right now, but their writing is fantastic when they are focused. Fabulous for second graders!

      Like

Leave a Reply

